Asia Women Football Cup in Maharashtra from Jan. 20-Feb. 6

Asia Women Football Cup in Maharashtra from Jan. 20-Feb. 6

Asia Women Football Cup in Maharashtra from Jan. 20-Feb. 6

Women teams from 12 Asian nations to participate

New Delhi, Jan. 17 (Delhi Crown): Asian Women Football tournament will kick-off in Maharashtra on January 20. A total of 12 women football teams are participating in the tourney, the final of which will be played on February 6.

The participating teams include India, China, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Vietnam, Iran, Australia, South Korea, Philippines, Myanmar, Thailand, and Indonesia.

The matches will be played at three stadiums, at Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and Pune.

All India Football Federation (AIFF) president Prafull Patel on Monday virtually addressed media persons, saying he was sure that the Indian team will clear the League stage in the tournament.

This is the first time when India is hosting this tournament. India will also be hosting the Under-17 women cup tournament in October this year.

Team India named “The Blue Tigresses” will take on Iran in the second match of the tournament on Jan. 20, and Chinese Taipei on Jan. 23, and China Dec. 26 in Group A of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022.

The teams have been divided into three groups:

Group A: India, China PR, Iran, Chinese Taipei

Group B: Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, Philippines

Group C: Japan, Myanmar, South Korea, Vietnam.

India midfielder Sanju Yadav was quoted as saying – “We have got so many youngsters in our team. There are 20-year-olds, 18-19-year-olds, and even a 16-year-old. But playing for the senior team at this young an age means that you must come of age mentally. I think these youngsters that we have are very mature.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *